A couple of days ago I got called fat by a complete stranger. When I responded that I was happy with the way I look, he said “you’re so full of yourself”. At first, I let it get to me. I questioned my body, I felt awful about myself and was really hurt. Little did he know that when I was younger, I used to be on the heavier side. Although I was not obese, I was not a size zero type of girl. I was regularly bullied at school and dealt with severe depression at the age of 10.

This led me to resorting to food to feel better, but it only increased the teasing. After moving to the U.S and losing some weight, I slowly started to learn how to love my body. It took a long time because I used to be very harsh on myself, my body, and the way I looked. However, even though I still deal with the side effects of being bullied at a young age, this incident made me realize that you really can’t let people define you or your image. You can’t go through life worried about what everyone else is going to think, or let the judgement of others stop you from being you. So to the guy who said I was fat and “full of myself”: no, you’re wrong. I love my curves and I’m truly happy with my body. I used to have a lot of insecurities and a very low self-esteem which I have worked extremely hard to overcome & now I’m fabulous.
PS: If you can relate to this, or are currently going through something similar just know that you are truly beautiful. Not one drop of your self-worth should depend on other people’s acceptance of you. Remember: there’s absolutely nothing wrong with you or your body.. There’s just a lot wrong with our society. ‪#‎LoveYourself‬ ‪#‎LoveYourBody‬ ‪#‎PositiveTalk‬ ‪love yourself

 

